Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Prof. Suresh Chandra Srivastava, Retired Professor, IIT, Kanpur


Brief BiographyImage

Prof. Suresh Chandra Srivastava received B.Tech. degree in Electrical Engineering from Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University in 1976, with first rank in the Institute, and Ph.D. from IIT Delhi in 1987. He worked at Engineers India Limited New Delhi during 1976-1988 in its Project Engineering and Engineering Technology Development divisions. Since 28 November 1988, he has been with the Department of Electrical Engineering at IIT Kanpur, where he became ‘Professor’ in December 1995 and superannuated on 30 November 2020. Since January 2021, he has been serving as Director of the IIT Kanpur-La Trobe University Research Academy and Distinguished Visiting Professor at IIT Kanpur.

He also held several important institute responsibilities at IIT Kanpur, including Head of Electrical Engineering Department, Dean R&D, and Deputy Director. During August 2008-July 2009, he was a ‘Visiting Research Professor’ in the ECE Department at Mississippi State University, USA, faculty member at AIT Bangkok during 1996-97, and Visiting Professor at University of Western Ontario during Summer 2005. He held ‘P.K. Kelkar’ and ‘Ministry of Labour and Employment’ Chair Professor positions at IIT Kanpur.

Prof. Srivastava has been a very popular teacher amongst students, specifically in Power area, who ranked him quite high. He got commendation letters, based on students’ feedback, almost every semester in core as well as professional courses at IIT Kanpur, was amongst few top ranked faculty members in Energy Program at AIT Bangkok and ECE department at Mississippi State University. He Introduced several new courses in emerging areas of electrical power systems at IIT Kanpur also several PG courses at AIT Bangkok. He was instrumental in starting Masters programme in Electrical Engineering at Institute of Engineering, Kathmandu under an MOU with them, and Ph.D. programme in Electric Power System Management field at AIT Bangkok. He has supervised 31 Ph.D. and 65 Masters theses, published more than 300 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings. His doctoral and masters students are occupying high positions in Academic Institutions and Industries.

He Has been PI/co-PI to about 24 sponsored research and consultancy projects, and Institute Coordinator to the NPTEL program of MHRD during 2009-2011 at IIT Kanpur under which several web and video based courses have been developed. He has also led an Indo US project ‘UI-ASSIST’ on Smart Grid and Storage, from India. He has served in the governing council and expert committee of several government organizations, Academic Institutions and utilities in India. At present he is continuing as Chairman BOG, UPTTI Kanpur and  as a Member of the ‘Court’ of NSUT New Delhi. He was served as Chairman of IEEE UP Section, Vice Chair IEEE India Council and  Ombudsman for last 3 years in the IEEE UP Section.

His academic and research contributions have been recognized in the form of Fellowship of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Institution of Engineers (India), Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers IETE), and Indian Academy of Mathematical Modelling and Simulation (IAMMS). He also received ‘IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Outstanding Engineer Award 2012’ from PES/IAS Chapter, of Uttar Pradesh section, ‘Academic Excellence Award’ in Power Engineering at National Power systems Conference held at IIT (BHU) during December 2012, ‘Prof GK Dubey Memorial IEEE UP Section Life Time Achievement Award 2016’ in December 2016 by IEEE UP Section, ‘Malaviya Award for Excellence in Power Systems–2018’ at National Power systems Conference held at NIT Trichy during December 2018, ‘IEEE IC  Life Time  Achievement Section Chair Award 2020’ at IEEE INDICON held at NSUT Delhi in December 2020, ‘Distinguished Teacher Award’ in year 2020 at IIT Kanpur, and ‘2021 Institute Fellow Award’ of IIT Kanpur in November 2022.